Corry to captain Barbarians on two-match tour

By Ken Ferris

LONDON (Reuters) - Former England captain Martin Corry will skipper the Barbarians on their two-match tour which starts later this month, the team said Thursday.

Leicester's club captain will lead the Barbarians against England at Twickenham on May 30 before they fly to Sydney where they will face Australia on June 6.

"It's a huge honour for me to be invited to be captain of the Barbarians," Corry said on the Barbarians official website ( "They're a club that holds dear everything which is right about rugby."

Back row Corry, who was capped 64 times by England and led the national side 17 times, first played for the Barbarians on their South American summer tour in 1998.

"We have a particularly strong squad this year, full of test quality players with vast experience world wide," added Leicester and Barbarians' president Micky Steele-Bodger. "Martin was a popular choice by our committee to be their captain.

"He's held in high regard by everyone who has played with and against him and as he is retiring after our tour, we are delighted to think his final matches will be in a Barbarian jersey," he told the Barbarians website.

The squad has been finalised with the addition of Australia flanker Phil Waugh, who has 77 caps, and Fijian wing prodigy Ratu Nasiganiyavi, who plays for the Waratahs in Super 14.

Clarke Dermody replaces the injured Iestyn Thomas while Peter Grant and Justin Harrison are unavailable.

The Barbarians are an invitational team made up of players from any country in the world, including their opponents. They traditionally include at least one uncapped player in the team.


Backs - Ben Blair (New Zealand), Doug Howlett (New Zealand), Sonny Bill Williams (uncapped), Seilala Mapusua (Samoa), Luke McAlister (New Zealand), Josh Lewsey (England), Geordan Murphy (Ireland), Ian Balshaw (England), Gordon D'Arcy (Ireland), Ratu Nasiganiyavi (uncapped), Justin Marshall (New Zealand), Dimitri Yachvili (France)

Forwards - Sebastien Bruno (France), Schalk Brits (South Africa), Clarke Dermody (New Zealand), Greg Somerville (New Zealand), B J Botha (South Africa), Chris Jack (New Zealand), Paul Tito (uncapped), Martin Corry (England), Jerry Collins (New Zealand), Rocky Elsom (Australia), Serge Betsen (France), Phil Waugh (Australia)

(Editing by Ian Ransom; To query or comment on this story email

Article Published: 22/05/2009